2016 Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List
This Halloween, don’t think your gluten-free little ones can’t enjoy trick-or-treating. The following is a list of gluten-free candy, although it’s not all-inclusive and there are other gluten-free goodies on the market. Always make sure to check a product’s label to verify its gluten-free status as manufacturers may change ingredients or facilities.
Almond Joy and Mounds Bars (except Almond Joy Pieces candy)
Hershey’s Air Delight (aerated milk chocolate bar)
Hershey’s Kisses (including milk chocolate and all filled varieties)
Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar and Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.55 oz or 1.45 oz only)
Hershey’s Milk Duds
Hershey’s Nuggets (including milk chocolate, milk chocolate with almonds, special dark chocolate with almonds and extra creamy milk chocolate with toffee and almonds)
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (except seasonal shapes and Unwrapped Minis)
Reese’s Pieces Candy (except Reese’s Pieces Eggs)
Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except Rolo® Minis
Scharffen Berger Bars (including 70% bittersweet chocolate, 82% extra dark chocolate, 41% milk chocolate, 62% semisweet dark, 99% unsweetened dark chocolate baking, 70% bittersweet baking chunks)
SKOR and SKOR Toffee bar
York Peppermint Patties (except York Pieces candy, York minis and York shapes)
Just Born Inc.
Company states all candy this is gluten-free will be labeled gluten-free.
Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews (including Bite-Size Chewy Pieces Combo bag, Milk Chocolatey and Original Dark)
Mike and Ike (including Hot Tamales, Original Fruit, Tangy Twister, Zours Chewy Sour candy)
Peeps (including chocolate mousse-flavored cats, dark chocolate-covered pumpkins, dark chocolate-dipped orange chicks, ghosts marshmallow candy, milk chocolate-covered pumpkins, milk chocolate-dipped orange chicks, pumpkins marshmallow candy, sugar-free pumpkins marshmallow NOT including Peeps snack-size mini marshmallow chicks)
Teenee Beanee jelly beans
Mars encourages consumers to read the label before purchasing and look for the “May contain [allergen]” label. During Halloween some candy is produced at alternative facilities that may provide gluten cross-contamination risks.
3 Musketeers Bar (all flavors)
Dove Chocolate (all flavors except milk chocolate cinnamon graham, cookies & cream and roasted almonds covered in silky smooth milk chocolate or dark chocolate)
M&M’s (all flavors except M&M’s pretzel, M&M’s raspberry, M&M’s snack mix, M&M’s dark mint and M&M’s mega)
Milky Way Midnight Bar and Caramel Bar (except all Milky Way original and bite-size products (contains barley))
Snickers Bar (all flavors except Snickers Egg products)
Banana Splits Chews
Canada Mints, Canada Wintergreen
Haviland Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty
Mary Jane (including Mary Jane peanut butter kisses)
Mint Julep Chews
Necco Chocolate Wafers
Butterfinger Bars, Bites and Mini’s (does not include Butterfinger Crisp, Butterfinger Giant Bar, Butterfinger Medallions, Butterfinger Pumpkins, Butterfinger Snackerz)
Nestle Milk Chocolate
Nestle Nips (regular and sugar-free)
Nestle Oh Henry!
Wonka Laffy Taffy
Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip
Wonka Pixy Stix
Wonka Runts (including chewy and original)
Wonka Sweetarts Chewy (formerly Shockers)
Many will be labeled gluten-free – look for these brands in your Hy-Vee HealthMarket.
Candy Tree lollipops and licorice
Endangered Species Chocolate
Justin’s Nut Butters (dark chocolate peanut butter cups, milk chocolate peanut butter cups, white chocolate peanut butter cups, mini dark chocolate peanut butter cups, mini milk chocolate peanut butter cups)
Heavenly Organics (including Honey Pattie Chocolate Almond-Healthy Candy, Honey Pattie Chocolate Ginger-Healthy Candy, Honey Pattie Chocolate Mint-Healthy Candy, Honey Pattie Chocolate Pomegranate-Healthy Candy)
Righteously Raw Chocolates
Surf Sweets Gummies
Yummy Earth lollipops and gummies
The entire Smarties line of products is gluten-free. Smarties suggests checking the UPC number. If it begins with “0 11206,” the product is manufactured in a gluten-free facility.
Tootsie Roll Industries
Company states all Tootsie products are gluten-free except for Andes Cookies.
All U.S. Wrigley products follow all FDA labeling regulations. If the use of gluten is critical to the taste of a Wrigley product, then gluten-containing ingredients are labeled. Wrigley advises consumers concerned with gluten sensitivities to read the label and check with their doctors if they have questions.